Mikhailovsky Palace in St. Petersburg

sights

One of the most famous palaces of St. Petersburg and visited by tourists, the Mikhailovsky Palace can rightfully be considered. A grandiose building in the style of high classicism is located in the very center of the Northern capital, on Italian Street near the Arts Square. The creation of the famous architect Carl Rossi attracts attention with its scale, correct layout of the building and the surrounding area.

For many years, the Mikhailovsky Palace has been the main building of the Russian Museum; thousands of art objects are stored and exhibited here. Permanent exhibitions are combined in the palace with temporary projects - exhibitions and concerts.

View of the palace and Mikhailovsky Garden
View of the palace and the Mikhailovsky Garden, © Andrew Shiva

Mikhailovsky Palace: history, architect

Emperor Paul I made the decision to build a palace for his youngest son Mikhail Pavlovich in 1798, after the birth of the young prince. A fund was organized to create the residence, however, the death of Pavel Petrovich in 1801 postponed the implementation of this plan for a long time.

The emperor's eldest son, Alexander I, who ascended the throne, decided to fulfill his father's will. Thus, the construction of the Mikhailovsky Palace began only in 1819. The development of the project started two years earlier; it took a long time to select the territory for the construction. Initially, it was planned to rebuild an already existing building - the Vorontsov Palace or the house of Count Chernyshev, but then, Carl Rossi chose a wasteland for the construction of a new palace. The undeveloped area made it possible to create not just a new building, but a whole architectural ensemble, with a square and a park.

Panorama of the palace from the Mikhailovsky Garden:

The construction of the Mikhailovsky Palace was completed in 1825. At the same time, the adjacent Mikhailovsky Garden was created, another architect, Adam Adamovich Menelas, worked on it. After the grand opening and consecration, the ensemble was handed over to the brother of the emperor Michael.

The Russian Museum in the Mikhailovsky Palace was organized in 1895 by decree of Emperor Nicholas II, after the grandchildren of Mikhail Pavlovich transferred the building to the treasury.

Panoramic palace (main facade):

Layout and interiors of the palace

The center of the architectural ensemble, of course, is the main building of the Mikhailovsky Palace. There are wings attached to it on both sides: West - Freilinsky and East - Manezhny. The building has 4 floors, the main facade overlooks the main entrance and the Arts Square, the second facade can be viewed from the Mikhailovsky Garden.

It is interesting to read:  Sculptural composition "Paris Defense"

Despite the large number of rooms and halls, the layout of the floors of the palace was very harmonious. The architect Karl Rossi managed to create a real masterpiece - the luxury of the interiors did not seem vulgar, all the elements are tastefully selected and created in the same style.

Halls of the Mikhailovsky Palace:

The layout of the Mikhailovsky Palace is as follows: on the ground floor there are rooms for everyday use: offices, children's rooms, guest rooms. The ballrooms are located in the western and northern parts of the palace, the state chambers of the princely couple are in the eastern.

After the transfer of the complex to the possession of Mikhail Pavlovich, many premises were redeveloped. The wife of the prince - Elena Pavlovna - followed the updates of architectural styles and tried to follow various fashion trends, rebuilding the premises of the palace and changing the interiors. After the sale of the Mikhailovsky Palace and the organization of the Russian Museum in it, the architect V.F.Svinin, invited by Nicholas I, carried out major restoration work.

In addition to the renovation of engineering devices, doorways and narrow corridors were expanded in the palace; small rooms were combined to create large halls; part of the decor, most of the fireplaces, stoves, doors, wooden partitions were removed. The goal of this global redevelopment was to create comfortable exhibition halls and maximum fire safety, as well as to restore the original interiors, by Carl Rossi.

Today, visitors to the Mikhailovsky Palace have access to 39 exhibition halls, as well as the Main Vestibule, the Main Staircase and the Gallery of the second floor of the palace, decorated with various elements, the basis for the creation of which was the Russian weapon. Everywhere you can see images of military paraphernalia, shields and swords, the Russian coat of arms and other symbols of the state and military power of the country.

Mikhailovsky Palace

The halls display the collections of the Russian Museum of St. Petersburg - icon painting, painting, graphics, sculpture, furniture, fabrics, decorative and applied art, costumes, weapons and other exhibits.

In addition to the Main Lobby, the original layout has been preserved only in the White (White Column) Hall. This is hall number 11, where Princess Elena Pavlovna spent musical evenings. It displays furniture, paintings and sculptures that belonged to the first owners of the Mikhailovsky Palace. Wall paintings, parquet flooring, furnishings and other elements were restored according to the sketches of Carl Rossi.

It is interesting to read:  Russian Museum in St. Petersburg

Mikhailovsky Palace

Mikhailovsky Palace in St. Petersburg: opening hours

You can visit the Mikhailovsky Palace any day except Tuesday. Thursday from 13:00, on other days from 10:00 to 20:00. Ticket offices are open until 19:30.

Inspection is possible only as part of an excursion group, for individual visitors on Sundays, a "Weekend Excursion" is organized. Gathering the group at the box office at 13:00 and 15:00.

Excursions to the Mikhailovsky Palace can be ordered by phone +7 (812) 314-34-48, inquire about benefits and ask other questions by phone +7 (812) 595-42-48.

Mikhailovsky Palace

Getting there

The Mikhailovsky Palace with a garden is located in the most touristy place of St. Petersburg, between the embankment of the Griboyedov Canal, the embankment of the Moika River, Sadovaya and Inzhenernaya streets. It is surrounded by famous sights - Savior on Spilled Blood, Benois Wing, Mikhailovsky Theater, Great Philharmonic Hall, Mikhailovsky Castle, Russian Ethnographic Museum, Field of Mars and Engineering Square.

It will not be difficult to get to the Mikhailovsky Palace, because it is only 500 meters from the main tourist street - Nevsky Prospekt. It has two metro stations - "Nevsky Prospekt" and "Gostiny Dvor". From the first station, walk along the embankment of the Griboyedov Canal, from the second - along Sadovaya Street.

Mikhailovsky Palace

Many public transport stops at the Kazan Cathedral. Buses No. 3, 3 M, 3 MB, 4 M, 4 MB, 5 M, 5 MB, 7, 22, 24, 27, 191 and trolleybuses No. 1, 5, 7, 10 go to the Nevsky Prospekt metro station stop , 11, 22.

Minibuses K-107, K-289 run to the stop "Ploschad Iskusstv".

At the intersection of Sadovaya and Italyanskaya streets, trams No. 3 (stop “Italianskaya ulitsa”), buses No. 2 M, 49 and minibuses No. K-212 (stop “Inzhenernaya ulitsa") stop.

Tourists often prefer to walk along Nevsky Prospekt and the historical center on foot. But if you are coming from remote areas, then it makes sense to consider taking a taxi. Yandex applications will help you place an order. Taxi, Uber, Taxovichkof, Concord, Lucky, Gett, Maxim, which are very popular in St. Petersburg.

Source
INFO-MANIAC

Михайловский дворец в Санкт-Петербурге

Одним из самых известных и посещаемых туристами дворцов Санкт-Петербурга, по праву можно считать Михайловский дворец. Грандиозное здание в стиле высокого классицизма находится в самом центре Северной столицы, на Итальянской улице у площади Искусств. Творение знаменитого архитектора Карла Росси привлекает внимание своими масштабами, правильной планировкой здания и прилегающей территории.

Уже многие годы Михайловский дворец является главным зданием Русского музея, здесь хранятся и экспонируются тысячи предметов искусства. Постоянные выставки совмещаются во дворце с временными проектами — экспозициями и концертами.

Вид на дворец и Михайловский сад
Вид на дворец и Михайловский сад, © Andrew Shiva

Михайловский дворец: история, архитектор

Решение о строительстве дворца для своего младшего сына Михаила Павловича, император Павел I принял в 1798 году, после рождения юного князя. Для создания резиденции был организован фонд, однако, гибель Павла Петровича в 1801 году надолго отложила реализацию этого плана.

Взошедший на престол старший сын императора — Александр I — решил исполнить волю отца. Таким образом, строительство Михайловского дворца началась лишь в 1819 году. Разработка проекта стартовала на два года раньше, для сооружения долго выбирали территорию. Изначально планировалось перестроить уже существующее здание — Воронцовский дворец или дом графа Чернышева, но потом, Карл Росси выбрал для возведения нового дворца пустырь. Незастроенная территория позволяла создать не просто новое здание, а целый архитектурный ансамбль, с площадью и парком.

Панорама дворца из Михайловского сада:

Строительство Михайловского дворца завершилось в 1825 году. Тогда же был создан и прилегающий Михайловский сад, над ним трудился другой архитектор — Адам Адамович Менелас. После торжественного открытия и освящения ансамбль передали брату императора Михаилу.

Русский музей в Михайловском дворце организовали в 1895 году по указу императора Николая II, после того как внуки Михаила Павловича передали здание в казну.

Дворец на панораме (главный фасад):

Планировка и интерьеры дворца

Центром архитектурного ансамбля, конечно, является главный корпус Михайловского дворца. С двух сторон к нему пристроены флигели: Западный — Фрейлинский и Восточный — Манежный. Здание имеет 4 этажа, главный фасад выходит на парадный вход и площадь Искусств, второй фасад можно рассмотреть из Михайловского сада.

Несмотря на большое количество комнат и залов, планировка этажей дворца была очень гармоничной. Архитектору Карлу Росси удалось создать настоящий шедевр — роскошь интерьеров не казалась вульгарной, все элементы подобраны со вкусом и созданы в едином стиле.

Залы Михайловского дворца:

Планировка Михайловского дворца следующая: на первом этаже устроены комнаты для повседневного пользования: кабинеты, детские, гостевые. Бальные залы располагаются в западной и северной частях дворца, парадные покои княжеской четы — в восточной.

После передачи комплекса во владения Михаила Павловича многие помещения подверглись перепланировке. Супруга князя — Елена Павловна — следила за обновлениями архитектурных стилей и старалась следовать различных модным тенденциям, перестраивая помещения дворца и меняя интерьеры. После продажи Михайловского дворца и организации в нем Русского музея, приглашенный Николаем I, архитектор В. Ф. Свиньин провел капитальные восстановительные работы.

Кроме обновления инженерных устройств, во дворце были расширены дверные проемы и узкие коридоры; комнаты малой площади объединили, создав большие залы; часть декора, большинство каминов, печей, дверей, деревянных перегородок убрали. Цель такой глобальной перепланировки заключалась в создании удобных экспозиционных залов и максимальной пожарной безопасности, а также в восстановлении первоначальных интерьеров, авторства Карла Росси.

Сегодня посетителям Михайловского дворца доступны для осмотра 39 экспозиционных залов, а также Главный Вестибюль, Парадная лестница и Галерея второго этажа дворца, украшенные многообразными элементами, основой для создания которых послужило русское оружие. Повсюду можно увидеть изображения военной атрибутики, щитов и мечей, российского герба и других символов государственной и военной силы страны.

Михайловский дворец

В залах выставляются коллекции Русского музея Санкт-Петербурга — иконопись, живопись, графика, скульптура, мебель, ткани, предметы декоративно-прикладного искусства, костюмы, оружие и другие экспонаты.

Кроме Главного Вестибюля первоначальная планировка сохранилась только в Белом (Белоколонном) зале. Это зал № 11, где княгиня Елена Павловна проводила музыкальные вечера. Здесь демонстрируются мебель, картины и скульптуры, принадлежавшие первым владельцам Михайловского дворца. Роспись стен, паркет, предметы убранства и другие элементы восстанавливались по эскизам Карла Росси.

Михайловский дворец

Михайловский дворец Санкт-Петербурга: режим работы, цены

Посетить Михайловский дворец можно в любой день, кроме вторника. В четверг с 13:00, в другие дни с 10:00 до 20:00. Кассы работают до 19:30.

Осмотр возможен только в составе экскурсионной группы, для индивидуальных посетителей по воскресеньям организуется «Экскурсия выходного дня». Сбор группы возле кассы в 13:00 и в 15:00.

Цена билета: взрослые — 450 руб., школьники, студенты, пенсионеры — 200 руб.

Заказ экскурсий по Михайловскому дворцу осуществляется по телефону +7 (812) 314-34-48, узнать о льготах и задать другие вопросы по телефону +7 (812) 595-42-48.

Михайловский дворец

Как добраться

Михайловский дворец с садом находятся в самом туристическом месте Санкт-Петербурга, между набережной канала Грибоедова, набережной реки Мойки, Садовой и Инженерной улицами. Его окружают известные достопримечательности — Спас-на-Крови, Корпус Бенуа, Михайловский театр, Большой зал филармонии, Михайловский замок, Российский этнографический музей, Марсово поле и Инженерный сквер.

Добраться до Михайловского дворца не составит труда, ведь от главной туристической улицы — Невского проспекта — до него всего 500 метров. На нем есть две станции метро — «Невский проспект» и «Гостиный двор». От первой станции пройдите по набережной канала Грибоедова, от второй — по Садовой улице.

Михайловский дворец

Много общественного транспорта останавливается у Казанского собора. До остановки «Станция метро Невский проспект» идут автобусы № 3, 3 М, 3 МБ, 4 М, 4 МБ, 5 М, 5 МБ, 7, 22, 24, 27, 191 и троллейбусы № 1, 5, 7, 10, 11, 22.

До остановки «Площадь Искусств» курсируют маршрутки № К-107, К-289.

У перекрестка Садовой и Итальянской улиц останавливаются трамваи № 3 (ост. «Итальянская улица»), автобусы № 2 М, 49 и маршрутки № К-212 (ост. «Инженерная улица»).

Туристы чаще предпочитают гулять по Невскому проспекту и историческому центру пешком. Но если вы добираетесь из отдаленных районов, то имеет смысл рассмотреть вариант с такси. Сделать заказ помогут приложения Яндекс. Такси, Uber, Таксовичкоф, Конкорд, Везет, Gett, Maxim, которые очень популярны в Санкт-Петербурге.

источник

Интересно почитать:  Приоратский дворец в Гатчине
Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий