Ponte Milvio Bridge in Rome

sights

Along the Via Flaminia we are approaching the Milvio Bridge, on which the battle between Maxentius and Constantine took place. The wooden bridge was originally mentioned by Titus Livy in 207 BC. The stone bridge was built in 109 BC. censor Mark Emilius Scavre. This is the oldest bridge in Rome, more than 2000 years old.

The strategically important bridge has witnessed many historical events, the most famous of which is the battle between the usurper Maxentius and the challenger Constantine (Constantine I the Great) in 312 AD. Having defeated the enemy, Constantine with a fluttering standard with a cross solemnly headed for Rome on October 28, 312.

The location of the Milvian Bridge at the northern end of the Champ de Mars made it a place where Roman legionaries trained for centuries, where the generals gathered troops both for the defense of the city and in order to go on campaigns of conquest or punitive expeditions. On the other side of this bridge, those who came to conquer Rome made parking, so that the bridge often found itself in the center of the most dramatic events.

The Milvian Bridge retained its value as a military bridge even after the end of the ancient era, and by no means always did it to its advantage. In 538, during the battle between the Byzantine expeditionary force of Belisarius and the Goths, the bridge was significantly destroyed. In 1335, during the armed conflict between Orsini and Colonna, the bridge was damaged again. The last time the Milvio Bridge suffered at the hands of Garibaldi's soldiers. The bridge was restored only in 1870.

Many celebrities entered Rome through it as conquerors and triumphants. The most famous among them are Gaius Julius Caesar (after crossing the Rubicon) and Charlemagne, in 799, when he came to Rome in order to revive the empire.

It is interesting to read:  Appian Way in Rome

Until 1956, the Milvio Bridge was used by car traffic until it was added to the list of protected monuments in Italy. Now the Milvio Bridge can only be crossed on foot. Its length is 136 meters.

The Milvio Bridge today connects the historical part of Rome with the peripheral areas of the city. Today, the Milvio bridge is known for being visited by couples in love, in order to capture their feelings, they hang padlocks on the lampposts of the bridge, and throw the keys into the river (so that no one can break their love).

Several years ago, one of the lampposts of the bridge collapsed under the weight of the castles, and in 2007 the authorities decided to remove thousands of these symbols of the fortress of marriage from the bridge, but the public opposed this action, and bunches of locks remained in their places, adding new ones.
INFO-MANIAC

Мост Милвио (Ponte Milvio) в Риме

По улице виа Фламиния мы приближаемся к мосту Милвио, на котором произошла битва между Максенцием и Константином. Первоначально деревянный мост упоминается Титом Ливием в 207 г. до н.э. Каменный мост был построен в 109 г. до н.э. цензором Марком Эмилием Скавром. Это самый старый мост в Риме, ему больше 2000 лет.

Важный в стратегическом отношении мост стал свидетельством многих исторических событий, самое знаменитое из которых битва между узурпатором Максенцием и претендентом Константином (Константином I Великим) в 312 г. н.э. Разбив неприятеля, Константин с развевающимся штандартом с крестом торжественно направился в Рим 28 октября 312 года.

Расположение Милвийского моста в северной оконечности Марсова поля делало его местом, где веками тренировались римские легионеры, там же полководцы собирали войска как для обороны города, так и для того, чтобы выступать в завоевательные походы или карательные экспедиции. По другую сторону от этого моста устраивали стоянки те, кто приходил завоевывать Рим, так что мост часто оказывался в центре самых драматических событий.

Милвийский мост сохранил значение военного моста и после окончания античной эпохи, и отнюдь не всегда шло ему на пользу. В 538 году во время сражения между византийским экспедиционным корпусом Велизария и готами мост был значительно разрушен. В 1335 году во время вооруженного конфликта Орсини и Колонна мост снова была поврежден. Последний раз мост Милвио пострадал от рук воинов Гарибальди. Мост восстановили только в 1870 г.

Множество знаменитостей въезжало по нему в Рим в качестве завоевателей и триумфаторов. Самые известные среди них Гай Юлий Цезарь (после перехода Рубикона) и Карл Великий, в 799 г., когда приезжал в Рим для того, чтобы возродить империю.

До 1956 года по мосту Мильвио проходило автомобильное движение, пока его не внесли в список охраняемых памятников Италии. Сейчас мост Мильвио можно пересечь только пешком. Длина его составляет 136 метров.

Мост Мильвио сегодня связывает историческую часть Рима с периферийными районами города. На сегодняшний день мост  Мильвио известен тем, что его посещают влюбленные пары, для того чтобы запечатлеть свои чувства, они вешают замочки на фонарных столбах моста, а ключи выбрасывают в реку (чтобы никто не смог разорвать их любовь) .

Несколько лет назад один из фонарных столбов моста обрушился под тяжестью замков, и в 2007 году власти приняли решение убрать тысячи этих символов крепости брака с моста, но общественность выступила против этой акции, и гроздья замков остались на своих местах, прирастая новыми.

 

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий