Piazza Vittorio in Rome

sights

Piazza Vittorio Romans abbreviated as Vittorio Emanuele II (piazza Vittorio Emanuele II). Not so long ago, among the inhabitants of the city, it was known for a large market located on its territory. However, today there is no market - it was moved to another place, and the church of Sant'Eusebio became visible on the square.

History of occurrence

Initially, Victor Emmanuel II Square was known as Joachim Murat Square. Some time later, the square was renamed Ferdinand II Square. This square was located along the avenue, which is called Victor Emmanuel. Two important and famous buildings surround the square on both sides. The first is the Palace of Justice. The construction of this palace lasted for six years (1930-1936). On the other side is the Palace of St. George. In 1889, a fountain was added to the general architectural ensemble of the square.

Architecture and description

The building of Justice has a special structure and reflects the style of the fascist times. It is a common structure that is made of stone and cement. The main facade of the Palace of Justice is directed to the street Antonio Nobile. In front of the entrance, you can see a stone statue dedicated to the goddess of justice. On a stone ramp stands a majestic statue holding a sword. Also in the upper main part of the palace you can see another Latin inscription: "IVSTITIA".

As for the Palace of St. George, this building was built between 1874 and 1876. The palace was named after the savior and patron saint of the city. The palace was built on the site where the monastery of the Celestine order was located earlier. The main architect of the Palace of St. George is Gerardo Regghe. Today the local municipality is located here.

Three memorial plaques can be found in the lobby of the building. The first slab is dedicated to Count Amedeo the Sixth. The count died in 1383 during a plague epidemic. The second slab was installed in memory of the victims of the 1799 Neapolitan revolution. The third plaque is dedicated to the memory of the brave Lieutenant Giuseppe Albino, who died in 1892 in the military battle of Adua. This memorial plaque is decorated with a gold medal, which was awarded to the lieutenant for services to the fatherland.

It is interesting to read:  Magenta Boulevard in Paris

During the German occupation, the palace was significantly damaged, but the facade of the building survived. After the reconstruction, the building of the palace was restored. In the lobby of the Palace of St. George, there is a statue of St. George on a horse.

Another important building is located in the palace itself. On its right side there is a church consecrated in honor of the Madonna of the Liberation. It has no distinctive features and no designations on the main facade of the building. The main attraction of the church is the ancient wooden statuette of the Holy Madonna.

The square of Victor Emmanuel II has changed its appearance more than once over a long period of its existence. The buildings are of different styles and shapes. For example, the palace of St. George has a portico decorated with columns. These columns also support the balcony. The upper floor of the palace is decorated with rectangular windows. But the lower floor and arches have the usual semicircular shape.

Attractions nearby

The National Museum of Oriental Art is located in the vicinity of Victor Emmanuel II Square. Also nearby you can visit the Basilica of St. Mary the Great and the Cathedral of St. John Lateran.

Tourist information

Address: Piazza Vittorio, Rome, Italy

Victor Emmanuel II Square is open to visitors at any time. Near the square there is a Roman metro station - "Vittorio Emanuele". On the metro map, this station is indicated on line A.

Source
INFO-MANIAC

Площадь Витторио (Piazza Vittorio) в Риме

Площадью Витторио римляне сокращенно называют площадь Витторио-Эмануэле II (piazza Vittorio Emanuele II). Не так давно среди жителей города она была известна большим рынком, располагавшимся на ее территории. Однако сегодня рынка нет — его перенесли в другое место, на площади же стала видна церковь Сант-Эусебио.

История возникновения

Изначально Площадь Виктора Эммануила Второго была известна как Площадь Иоахима Мюрата. Спустя некоторое время, площадь переименовали в Площадь Фердинанда Второго. Эта площадь располагалась вдоль проспекта, который называется Виктор Эммануил. С обеих сторон площадь окружают два важных и известных здания. Первое —  дворец Юстиции. Строительство данного дворца длилось на протяжении шести лет (1930 – 1936 г.г.). С другой стороны — дворец Святого Георгия. В 1889 году в общий архитектурный ансамбль площади был добавлен фонтан.

Архитектура и описание

Здание Юстиции имеет особенную структуру и отображает стиль фашистских времён. Это общее строение, которое создано из камня и цемента. Главный фасад дворца Юстиции направлен на улицу Антонио Нобиле. Перед входом можно увидеть каменную статую, которая посвящена богине правосудия. На каменной рампе стоит величественная статуя с мечом в руках. Также в верхней главной части дворца можно увидеть ещё одну латинскую надпись: «IVSTITIA».

Что касается дворца Святого Георгия, то это здание было построено в период с 1874 года по 1876 год. Дворец был назван в честь спасителя и покровителя города. Дворец был построен на месте, где ранее располагался монастырь Целестинского ордена. Главным архитектором дворца Святого Георгия считается Герардо Редже. На сегодняшний день здесь находится местный муниципалитет.

В вестибюле здания можно найти три мемориальные плиты. Первая плита посвящена графу Амедео Шестому. Граф умер в 1383 году в период эпидемии чумы. Вторая плита установлена в память жертв неаполитанской революции 1799 года. Третья мемориальная плита посвящена памяти отважному лейтенанту Джузеппе Альбино, который погиб в 1892 г. в военной битве под Адуа. Эта мемориальная плита украшена золотой медалью, которая была присвоена лейтенанту за заслуги перед отечеством.

В период немецкой оккупации дворец значительно пострадал, но фасад здания уцелел. После реконструкции здание дворца удалось восстановить. В холле дворца Святого Георгия расположена статуя святого Георгия на коне.

В самом  дворце располагается ещё одно важное здание. В его правой части находится церковь, которая освящена в честь Мадонны Освобождения. Она не имеет никаких отличительных черт и никаких обозначений на главном фасаде здания. Главной достопримечательностью церкви считается древняя деревянная статуэтка Святой Мадонны.

Площадь Виктора Эммануила Второго за долгий период существования изменила свой внешний вид не единожды. Здания имеют различный стиль и форму. Так, например, дворец Святого Георгия имеет портик, украшенный колоннами. Эти колонны также являются опорой для балкона. Верхний этаж дворца украшен окнами прямоугольной формы. А вот нижний этаж и арки имеют привычную полукруглую форму.

Достопримечательности поблизости

В окрестностях расположения Площади Виктора Эммануила Второго находится Национальный музей восточного искусства. Также рядом можно посетить базилику Святой Марии Великой и собор Святого Иоанна Латеранского.

Информация для туристов

Адрес: Piazza Vittorio, Rome, Italy

Площадь Виктора Эммануила Второго отрыта для посетителей в любое время. Рядом с площадью имеется станция римского метрополитена – «Витторио-Эмануэле». На карте метрополитена эта станция обозначена на линии А.

источник

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий