Heroes Square in Budapest

sights

Do you want to get acquainted with the history of the Hungarian state? Do you want to know how the Hungarians showed their solidarity and national unity? No, you do not need to study the numerous volumes of history books for this. It is enough to come to Heroes' Square in Budapest and see the monuments located here.

The famous Heroes' Square is one of Hungary's largest squares and one of its main attractions. It is the historicism of architectural structures and monuments that makes it special for residents of the capital. This is probably why tourists from all over the world come to this place every year to experience this greatness and enjoy the beauties of the city.

Millennium Memorial: A History of Creation

The history of Heroes' Square began long before the first buildings appeared here. It so happened that important public councils and political meetings, solving issues of national importance, have long gathered at this place. Later, at the beginning of the 19th century, the first houses of local aristocrats appeared here. They laid the foundation for mass construction around the square.

Active construction began at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. It was just for the mass building of all of Budapest after the confluence of Buda, Pest and Obuda. Despite the rapidly growing buildings along the perimeter, the center of the modern Heroes' Square remained empty.

In 1896, the construction of an architectural ensemble dedicated to the 1000 anniversary of Hungarian statehood began here. In 896, the Magyars came to Europe, the ancestors of modern Hungarians, from whom national history begins. That's why the central and main sculpture of the square got its name - the Millennium Memorial. The authors of the project were famous representatives of Hungarian art Albert Shikedanets and Gyorgy Zala.

Description of the monument

This majestic monument, 36 m high, consists of a pedestal, a high marble column, headed by the archangel Gabriel, standing on a sphere. The column was erected in the style of the Corinthian order - with a bell-shaped capital and stylized acanthus leaves.

It is interesting to read:  Budapest River Tram

It is noteworthy that the 5 meter sculpture of the archangel Gabriel, who is considered the patron saint of the Hungarians, appeared here after 5 years, only in the 1901 year. According to local traditions, it was the archangel Gabriel who appeared in a dream to King Istvan and persuaded him to find Christianity and carry faith in the people. In this regard, the very crown of St. Stephen is depicted in the right hand of the sculpture (Hungarians have a special respect for this ruler). With his left hand, the archangel exalts the apostolic double cross received from the Pope.

At the World Exhibition in Paris, the sculpture of the archangel Gabriel won a prize, but only this part, and not the entire monument.

On the pedestal at the base there are 7 sculptures of Magyar leaders on horseback - exactly those that led the Magyar peoples through the Carpathians to Europe. The total construction time of the entire monument, together with these figures, was 42 years. Headed by the ruler Arpad, his dynasty ruled from the 9th to the beginning of the 14th century. Eled, Huba and Tash stand on his right hand, Kond, Ond and Tehetem stand on his left.

Memorial plate

In 1929, a memorial plate was erected in front of the monument in the center in memory of the heroes who fell while defending the borders of Hungary. It is surrounded by a small fence, and free access close to the stone slab is closed. Although there are no soldiers' graves under the stove.

In 1951 under communist rule, the memorial was removed for political reasons, but in 1956 it was restored again. On public holidays, they place a guard of honor and lay flowers, paying tribute to all the Hungarian defenders.

Colonnades

Behind the monument are two semicircular colonnades with a length of 85 meters each. Between the columns there are sculptures of important personalities in the history of the people. In the left part:

  • Istvan I,
  • Laszlo I
  • Kalman I the Scribe,
  • Andras II,
  • Bela IV,
  • Charles I
  • Louis I.
It is interesting to read:  St. Matthias Cathedral in Budapest 

The colonnade is crowned with symbolic images. In one part, the image of labor and wealth in the form of a pair with a scythe sowing seeds. At the opposite end is the image of knowledge in the form of a man with a snake.

The following figures are located in the right colonnade:

  • Janos Hunyadi
  • Matthias I Corvin,
  • Istvan Bochkai,
  • Gabor Betlen,
  • Imre Tekeli
  • Francis II Rakoczy,
  • Lajosh Kossuth.

At the top of the colonnade at both ends there are also two generalized figures: a statue of the world in the form of a woman with a palm branch and an image of prosperity in the form of a man holding a small golden statue.

At the bottom of the colonnades are bas-reliefs depicting Hungarian heroes (until the 1918 of the year there were representatives of the Habsburg dynasty).

The colonnades together with the Millennium Monument and the stone slab form a single memorial complex. Numerous photographs of Budapest often portray this unity among other prominent places.

Neighborhood

From all sides, Heroes Square is surrounded by outstanding buildings:

  • The Museum of Fine Arts is located on the western side, designed by architects Albert Sikedanets and Fülop Herzog by the 1906 year. The museum has more than 100 thousand exhibits representing different times and cultures - from antiquity to the present day.
  • Myucharnok Exhibition Center - from the east, opposite the Museum, the authors of the architectural project are the same, built in 1896. This institution has no exhibits and a permanent exhibition; temporary exhibitions of contemporary art are regularly held here.
  • Andrássy Avenue - approaches Heroes' Square from the south, connecting it with Erzhebet Square. Recognized as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The main shopping and entertainment street of the capital. The avenue also houses the Memorial Museum, the Museum of Terror, the Opera House, the Ballet School, the Museum of East Asian Arts and the University of Fine Arts.
  • Varoshliget Park - located behind the square, from the north. This is a very beautiful and cozy place that gathers residents for walks and entertainment. The main attraction in the park is Vajdahunyad Castle - a picturesque and romantic place. It is also possible to visit the circus, zoo, botanical garden, attractions, Sechinya baths, a sports complex, acquaintance with the famous hourglass "Wheel of Time", a monument to the chronicler Anonymous. And next to the park in winter there is a large ice rink for adults and children.
  • Monument to the 1956 revolution of the year - located next to the Heroes Square, installed in the 2006 year, to the 50 anniversary of the revolution. Although the uprising was crushed, in Hungary it is celebrated as an attempt to gain national independence. The monument consists of 2006 metal wedges installed at an angle of 56 degrees and forming a triangle. The first wedges are scattered, covered with rust, then they become higher and denser, and to the top they merge, reaching a height of 8 meters, and become completely polished. This monument symbolizes the cohesion and strength of the Hungarian people.
It is interesting to read:  City park Varoshliget in Budapest

To find your way around the place and see all the sights, you can first explore the Heroes' Square on the map, where the visited cultural places and architectural structures are marked.

Getting there

Address: Budapest, Hősök tere, 1146 Hungary.

When choosing a way to get to Heroes' Square, first decide what is your priority. If you want to see the local architecture, the beautiful facades of the main streets, shops and hotels, chat with the residents, then it is best to walk along Andrassy Avenue.

If you have little time and you intend to see only the area and the surrounding area, then there are several ways:

  • metro (yellow line M1), to the station "Hősök tere";
  • bus routes No. 105, 20Е, 30, 30А, 230, as well as night No. 979;
  • trolleybus No. 72, 75, 79;
  • Taxi.

You can also get to the Heroes Square by visiting one of the tourist excursions with the capture of the square. Travel around Hungary and Budapest and discover the culture and history of this hospitable and generous people!

Source
INFO-MANIAC

Площадь героев в Будапеште

Хотите познакомиться с историей Венгерского государства? Хотите узнать, как венгры проявили свою сплоченность и национальное единство? Нет, для этого не нужно изучать многочисленные тома книг по истории. Достаточно приехать на Площадь героев в Будапеште и увидеть монументы, расположенные тут.

Знаменитая Heroes’ Square – одна из самых больших площадей Венгрии и одна из главных ее достопримечательностей. Именно историзм архитектурных сооружений и монументов делает ее особенной для жителей столицы. Наверное, поэтому ежегодно туристы со всего мира приезжают на это место, чтобы прочувствовать на себе это величие и насладиться красотами города.

Мемориал тысячелетия: история создания

История Площади героев началась еще задолго до того, как тут появились первые строения. Так сложилось, что на этом месте издавна собирались важные общественные советы и политические собрания, решающие вопросы государственного значения. Позже, в начале XIX века, тут появились первые дома местных аристократов. Они заложили начало массовым постройкам вокруг площади.

Активное строительство началось на рубеже XIX и XX веков. Оно пришлось как раз на массовую застройку всего Будапешта после слияния Буды, Пешта и Обуды. Несмотря на быстро растущие здания по периметру, центр современной Площади героев оставался пустым.

В 1896 году здесь началось строительство архитектурного ансамбля, посвященного 1000-летию венгерской государственности. В 896 году в Европу пришли мадьяры, предки современных венгров, с которых и берет начало национальная история. Центральная и главная скульптура площади потому и получила название – мемориал Тысячелетия. Авторами проекта стали известные представители венгерского искусства Альберт Шикеданец и Дьердь Зала.

Описание монумента

Этот величественный памятник высотой 36 м состоит из постамента, высокой мраморной колонны, которую возглавляет архангел Гавриил, стоящий на сфере. Колонна возведена в стиле коринфского ордера – с колоколообразной капителью и стилизованными листьями аканта.

Примечательно, что 5-метровая скульптура архангела Гавриила, которого считают покровителем венгров, появилась тут спустя 5 лет, лишь в 1901 году. Согласно местным преданиям, именно архангел Гавриил появился во сне королю Иштвану и убедил его обрести христианство и нести веру в народ. В связи с этим в правой руке скульптуры изображена та самая корона Святого Иштвана (к этому правителю у венгров особое почитание). Левой рукой архангел возвышает апостольский двойной крест, полученный от Папы Римского.

На Всемирной выставке в Париже скульптура архангела Гавриила заняла призовое место, но лишь эта часть, а не весь памятник.

На постаменте у основания расположены 7 скульптур мадьярских вождей на лошадях – именно тех, которые привели мадьярские народы через Карпаты в Европу. Общее время сооружения всего монумента вместе с этими фигурами составило 42 года. Возглавляет правитель Арпад, его династия правила с IX до начала XIV века. По правую руку от него стоят Элед, Хуба и Таш, по левую – Конд, Онд и Техетем.

Мемориальная плита

Перед памятником по центру установлена в 1929 году мемориальная плита в память героев, павших при защите границ Венгрии. Она ограждена небольшим забором, и свободный доступ близко к каменной плите закрыт. Хотя захоронений солдат под плитой нет.

В 1951 при коммунистической власти мемориал убрали по политическим соображениям, но в 1956 году снова восстановили. В дни государственных праздников тут выставляют почетный караул и возлагают цветы, отдавая дань памяти всем венгерским защитникам.

Колоннады

За памятником находятся две полукруглые колоннады длиной по 85 метров каждая. Между колоннами установлены скульптуры важных в истории народа личностей. В левой части:

  • Иштван I,
  • Ласло I,
  • Кальман I Книжник,
  • Андраш II,
  • Бела IV,
  • Карл I,
  • Людовик I.

Венчают колоннаду символические образы. В одной части образ труда и богатства в виде пары с косой, сеющей семена. В противоположном конце – образ знания в виде мужчины со змеей.

В правой колоннаде располагаются следующие фигуры:

  • Янош Хуньяди,
  • Матьяш I Корвин,
  • Иштван Бочкаи,
  • Габор Бетлен,
  • Имре Текели,
  • Франциск II Ракоци,
  • Лайош Кошут.

На вершине колоннады по обоим концам также расположены две обобщенные фигуры: статуя мира в виде женщины с пальмовой ветвью и образ процветания в виде мужчины, держащего маленькую золотую статую.

В нижней части колоннад находятся барельефы, отображающие венгерских героев (до 1918 года тут были представители династии Габсбургов).

Колоннады вместе с памятником Тысячелетия и каменной плитой образуют единый мемориальный комплекс. На многочисленных фотографиях Будапешта часто изображается это единство среди других выдающихся мест.

Окрестности

Со всех сторон Площадь героев окружают выдающиеся строения:

  • Музей изобразительных искусств – в западной стороне, построен по проекту архитекторов Альберта Шикеданца и Фюлопа Херцога к 1906 году. В музее насчитывается более 100 тысяч экспонатов, представляющих разные времена и культуры – от древности до наших дней.
  • Выставочный центр Мючарнок – с востока, напротив Музея, авторы архитектурного проекта те же, построен в 1896 году. В этом заведении нет своих экспонатов и постоянной экспозиции, тут регулярно проходят временные выставки современного искусства.
  • Проспект Андраши – подходит к Heroes’ Square с юга, соединяя ее с площадью Эржебет. Признан объектом Всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Основная торгово-развлекательная улица столицы. На проспекте расположены также Мемориальный музей, Музей террора, оперный театр, балетная школа, музей восточноазиатских искусств и университет изящных искусств.
  • Парк Варошлигет – расположен за площадью, с севера. Это очень красивое и уютное место, которое собирает жителей на прогулки и развлечения. Главной достопримечательностью в парке является замок Вайдахуняд – живописное и романтическое место. Также тут возможно посещение цирка, зоопарка, ботсада, аттракционов, купален Сечиньи, спортивного комплекса, знакомство со знаменитыми песочными часами «Колесо времени», памятником летописцу Анонимусу. А рядом с парком в зимнее время открывается большой каток для взрослых и детей.
  • Памятник революции 1956 года – расположен рядом с Площадью героев, установлен в 2006 году, к 50-летию революции. Хотя восстание было подавлено, в Венгрии ее чествуют как попытку обретения национальной независимости. Памятник состоит из 2006 металлических клиньев, установленных под углом в 56 градусов и образующих треугольник. Первые клинья разрозненные, покрытые ржавчиной, далее они становятся выше и плотнее, а к вершине они сливаются, достигая высоты в 8 метров, и становятся полностью отполированными. Этот монумент символизирует сплоченность и силу венгерского народа.

Чтобы сориентироваться на месте и посмотреть все достопримечательности, можно сначала изучить Площадь героев на карте, где помечены посещаемые культурные места и архитектурные сооружения.

Как добраться

Адрес: Budapest, Hősök tere, 1146 Hungary.

Выбирая способ, как добраться до Площади героев, сначала определитесь, что для вас в приоритете. Если вы хотите рассмотреть местную архитектуру, красивые фасады главных улиц, магазины и отели, пообщаться с жителями, то лучше всего пройтись пешком по проспекту Андраши.

Если же у вас мало времени и вы намерены увидеть лишь площадь и близлежащие окрестности, тогда есть несколько способов:

  • метро (желтая ветка М1), до станции «Hősök tere»;
  • автобусные маршруты №№105, 20Е, 30, 30А, 230, а также ночной №979;
  • троллейбусы №72, 75, 79;
  • такси.

Также вы можете попасть на Площадь героев, посетив одну из туристических экскурсий с захватом площади. Путешествуйте по Венгрии и Будапешту и открывайте для себя культуру и историю этого гостеприимного и щедрого народа!

Источник

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий