Barcaccia Fountain in Rome

sights

The Barcaccia Fountain in Rome is a semi-submerged white marble boat decorated with bees at the stern - symbols of the Barberini family. This fountain is located in the famous Spanish Square, one of the most famous landmarks in Rome.

Barcaccia Fountain in Rome

History of creation

The history of this fountain begins in 1623, when, at the direction of Pope Urban VIII (Barberini), the reconstruction of the ancient aqueduct began in Rome to provide water to new areas of the city. The place for the construction was not chosen by chance. It is on plaza of spainAfter the water receded that flooded the city during a severe flood on Christmas Day 1598, a sunken boat was discovered carrying barrels of wine.

This event made such a strong impression on Pope Urban VIII that during the restoration of the water canal, he ordered to immortalize the boat in the form of a fountain in the future Plaza of Spain.

Construction began in 1627 by the papal architect Pietro Bernini and lasted 2 years.

The history of the Barcaccia fountain

Fountain Barcaccia today

Now, as in the 17th century, the fountain is supplied by the waters of the ancient Aqua Virgo aqueduct, which also feeds Trevi fountains (Fontana di Trevi) and Four Rivers (Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi). Tourists and locals do not hesitate to quench their thirst with the purest cold water from this source. In 2014, the restoration of the masterpiece by Bernini was completed, which lasted about a year.

The fountain of Barcaccia, or, as tourists affectionately call it, "The Boat", shone with pristine brilliance and whiteness. On February 19, 2015, fans of the Dutch football team Feyenoord slightly damaged the fountain during the riots before the game with Italian Roma in the 1/16 of the Europa League (the match ended in a 1: 1 draw).

Fountain of Barcaccia in the Plaza of Spain

Getting there

It's easy to get to the Barcaccia fountain: if you take the metro, the nearest station is Spagna (on the red line A), you can also get to Piazza Barberini (station Barberini) and from there take a walk along the amazingly beautiful old streets of the city.

It is interesting to read:  Priory Palace in Gatchina

Also, tourists have the opportunity to use the bus route. The most convenient bus runs at number 119. It will take you from Piazza Venezia to Piazza España through the entire historic center of the metropolis.

INFO-MANIAC

Фонтан Баркачча в Риме

Фонтан Баркачча в Риме – это полузатопленная лодка из белого мрамора, украшенная на корме пчелами – символами семьи Барберини. Этот фонтан расположен на знаменитой Испанской площади, одной из самых знаменитых достопримечательностей Рима.

Фонтан Баркачча в Риме

История создания

История этого фонтана начинается с 1623 года, когда по указанию Папы Урбана VIII (Барберини) в Риме началась реконструкция древнего акведука для обеспечения водой новых районов города. Место для строительства было выбрано неслучайно. Именно на площади Испании, после того как отступила вода, затопившая город во время сильного наводнения на Рождество 1598 года, был обнаружен затонувший баркас, на котором перевозили бочки с вином.

Это событие произвело на Папу Урбана VIII такое сильное впечатление, что во время восстановления водоканала он приказал на будущей площади Испании увековечить баркас в виде фонтана.

Строительство началось в 1627 году по проекту папского архитектора Пьетро Бернини и продолжалось 2 года.

История фонтана Баркачча

Фонтан Баркачча сегодня

Сейчас, как и в XVII столетии фонтан снабжают воды древнего акведука Аква Вирго, который также питает фонтаны Треви (Fontana di Trevi) и Четырех Рек (Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi). Туристы и местные жители без опаски утоляют жажду чистейшей холодной водой из этого источника. В 2014 году завершилась реставрация произведения мастера Бернини, которая длилась около года.

Фонтан Баркачча или, как его ласково называют туристы, «Лодочка» засиял первозданным блеском и белизной. 19 февраля 2015 года фанаты голландской футбольной команды «Фейеноорд» перед игрой с итальянской «Ромой» в 1/16 лиги Европы (матч закончился вничью 1:1)  незначительно повредили фонтан во время беспорядков.

Фонтан Баркачча на площади Испании

Как добраться

Добраться до фонтана Barcaccia несложно: если воспользоваться метро, то ближайшая станция – Spagna (по красной ветке А), можно же доехать до площади Барберини (станция Barberini) и оттуда совершить пешую прогулку по удивительно красивым старинным улочкам города.

Также у туристов есть возможность воспользоваться автобусным маршрутом. Самый удобный автобус ходит под номером 119. Он довезет вас от площади Венеции до Испанской площади через весь исторический центр мегаполиса.

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий