Boulogne-Billancourt - a suburb of Paris

Countries and cities

The largest suburb of Paris and one of the most developed communes in the Boulogne-Billancourt region is located 8 km west of the center of the capital in the department of Haut-de-Seine.

Past and present

At the very beginning of the 12th century, on the banks of one of the bends of the Seine, the small village of Menul-les-Saint-Clos was founded, the population of which was engaged in timber harvesting. In 1319, at the direction of King Philip V, the Church of Notre-Dame-de-Boulogne was built in it, modeled on the temple in Boulogne-sur-Mer. Over time, it became such an important center of pilgrimage that the name of the village changed to Boulogne-sur-Petit, and the nearby forest of Rouvre became known as Boulogne.

During the Hundred Years War, the village was almost completely destroyed and began to develop again only after the royal castle was built for Francis I not far from it. At the end of the 18th century new lands were added to it from the commune of Saint-Cloud, and she herself was once again renamed Boulogne-sur-Seine.

In the middle of the 19th century the commune becomes one of the summer suburbs of Paris. As a result of the urban transformations of Baron Haussmann, a stream of Parisians rushed to this suburb of the capital in the summer, preferring to live away from the center of a big city.

In the second half of the century, traditional craft workshops are increasingly giving way to high-tech industries. In 1880-1914, the automobile plant L. Renault was built here, thanks to the brothers V. and L. Bleriot and Farman, the aviation industry was born, and in 1912 one of the first film studios was founded. In 1926, after the merger with the commune of Billancourt, the city received its modern name Boulogne-Billancourt.

It is interesting to read:  Noisy-le-Sec - a suburb of Paris

In the interwar period, Boulogne-Billancourt attracted many members of the creative elite. It was chosen for permanent residence by the artists M. Chagall, M. Blondat, H. Gris and D. Bernard, architects Le Corbusier and R. Mallet-Stevens often visited it.

Since the 1970s, the city's infrastructure has undergone significant changes. Many heavy industry enterprises are curtailing production and at the same time the service sector is booming.

Architectural and historical heritage

In the commune with a long history rich in important events, many interesting architectural monuments have survived to this day.

Church of Notre Dame de Boulogne

These include the ancient church of Notre Dame de Boulogne (Église Notre-Dame de Boulogne), built in the years 1319-1320 in the Gothic style.

Chateau Bishyu Castle

The Château Buchillot now houses the P. Belmondo Museum.

Rothschild castle

More modern, but heavily damaged during the Second World War, Rothschild Castle (Le château Rothschild) 19th century. adorns a huge park in a mixed style with an area of ​​​​30 hectares.

Fountains

The green streets of Boulogne-Billacourt are decorated with numerous fountains, giving the desired coolness on a hot summer day: the fountain of lions by the sculptor A. Vaudoyer in the square of the Farman brothers, the fountain of nymphs designed by L. Bloom at the city hall, the swan fountain of M. libraries Marmottan and some others.

City museums

1930s Museum

The 1930s Museum (Musée des Années Trente) opened in the city in 1939. The basis of its collection is a collection of works of fine and decorative-applied art, as well as samples of industrial design created in the 1930s. During this period, Boulogne-Billancourt was a very attractive city due to the possibility of inexpensively purchasing housing or renting premises for a workshop, so many gifted but not wealthy artists, sculptors and architects sought to move here.

The beginning of the collection of the museum collection was laid by the historian and collector A. Besancon. On the exhibition area of ​​3000 m2 800 paintings, 1500 sculptures, 20 thousand drawings are presented. A new direction in the work of the museum since 1990 has been the acquisition of a collection of works of oriental art.

It is interesting to read:  Bercy Bridge (Pont de Bercy) in Paris

Renault Museum

A small Renault museum is housed in four halls of a 19th-century mansion.

Its exposition contains materials about the biography of L. Renault, the company's investments in motorsport and social programs, exhibits illustrating the process of designing a car and its production.

Belmondo Museum

The P. Belmondo Art Museum is the youngest in Boulogne-Billancourt. It opened in 2010 on the initiative of the children of the sculptor - the famous actor Jean-Paul Belmondo, his sister Muriel and brother Alain. The exposition is deployed on an area of ​​1 m2 in an 18th century mansion Buchillot, owned by E. de Rothschild.

The basis of the museum collection was a collection donated by relatives, including 259 sculptures, 444 medals and 900 drawings.

Caen Museum

The museum of the banker, industrialist and philanthropist A. Kahn has collected more than 1500 photographs from different parts of the world, which depict scenes of everyday and festive life of peoples of distant countries. The collection began in 1908 during a trip to Bosnia and Herzegovina. He believed that photography could be a tool that would bring peoples closer together and help to better understand different cultures.

In the lecture hall of the museum, you can also watch any of 123 films shot by A. Kahn and his associates, or become a spectator of one of 80 slide shows. Since 2014, the entrance to the museum has been limited for the duration of the reconstruction according to the project of K. Kuma, therefore, the exhibition and the garden can be viewed only by prior arrangement.

Albert Kahn Museum gardens

The beauty of the surrounding nature of Boulogne-sur-Seine was the main reason for A. Kahn's decision to move here in 1893. The picturesque hills of Saint-Cloud and the rivers flowing into the Seine, combined with a long-term passion for landscape art, inspired him to create a unique landscape gardening complex in 1895-1910.

It is interesting to read:  Monument to Marcel Aime in Paris

The territory of the landscape park with an area of ​​4 hectares is divided into 7 sections: meadow and Golden forest, swamp and Blue forest, Japanese and French gardens and Vosges landscape park. Each of them is a kind of "stage" on which various directions of landscape design are presented.

How to get from Paris

From the Strasbourg-Saint-Denis metro station, take the metro line 9 to the Marcel Sembat stop. Travel time will be about 30 minutes.

Source
INFO-MANIAC

Булонь-Бийанкур (Boulogne-Billancourt) — пригород Парижа

Самый большой пригород Парижа и одна из наиболее развитых коммун региона Булонь-Бийанкур (Boulogne-Billancourt) расположен в 8 км западнее центра столицы в департаменте О-де-Сен.

Прошлое и настоящее

В самом начале XII века на берегу одной из излучин Сены была основана небольшая деревенька Менюль-ле-Сен-Кло, население которой занималось заготовкой древесины. В 1319 году по указанию короля Филиппа V в ней была построена церковь Нотр-Дам-де-Булонь по образцу храма в Булонь-сюр-Мер. Со временем она стала настолько важным центром паломничества, что название деревни изменилось на Булонь-сюр-Пти, а ближайший лес Рувре стал назваться Булонским.

Во время Столетней войны деревня была почти полностью уничтожена и вновь стала развиваться только после того, как для Франциска I невдалеке от неё был построен королевский замок. В конце XVIII в. к ней были присоединены новые земли от коммуны Сен-Клу, а сама она была в очередной раз переименована в Булонь-сюр-Сен.

В середине XIX в. коммуна становится одним из дачных пригородов Парижа. В результате градостроительных преобразований барона Османа в это предместье столицы летом устремлялся поток парижан, предпочитающих жить вдали от центра большого города.

Во второй половине века традиционные ремесленные мастерские всё больше уступают место высокотехнологичным производствам. В 1880-1914 годах здесь строится автомобильный завод Л. Рено, благодаря братьям В. и Л. Блерио и Фарман зарождается авиационная промышленность, а в 1912 году основывается одна из первых киностудий. В 1926 году после объединения с коммуной Бийанкур город получает своё современное название Булонь-Бийанкур.

В межвоенный период Булонь-Бийанкур привлекает многих представителей творческой элиты. Его выбрали для постоянного проживания художники М. Шагал, М. Блондат, Х. Грис и Д. Бернард, здесь часто бывали архитекторы Ле Корбюзье и Р. Малле-Стивенс.

Начиная с 1970-х годов инфраструктура города происходят значительные изменения. Многие предприятия тяжелой промышленности сворачивают производство и в то же время бурно развивается сфера услуг.

Архитектурно-историческое наследие

В коммуне с богатой на важные события многовековой историей до наших дней сохранилось немало любопытных памятников зодчества.

Церковь Нотр-Дам-де-Булонь

К ним относится древняя церковь Нотр-Дам-де-Булонь (Église Notre-Dame de Boulogne), построенная в 1319-1320 годах в готическом стиле.

Замок Шато Бишью

В замке Шато Бишью (Château Buchillot) теперь находится музей П. Бельмондо.

Замок Ротшильда

Более современный, но сильно разрушенный во время Второй мировой войны замок Ротшильда (Le château Rothschild) XIX в. украшает огромный парк в смешанном стиле площадью 30 га.

Фонтаны

Зелёные улицы Булонь-Бийакура украшают многочисленные фонтаны, дарящие в жаркий летний день желанную прохладу: фонтан львов скульптора А. Водуайе на площади братьев Фарман, спроектированный Л. Блюмом фонтан нимф у городской ратуши, лебединый фонтан М. Лоауи у библиотеки Мармоттан и некоторые другие.

Городские музеи

Музей 1930-х годов

Музей 1930-х годов (Musée des Années Trente) открылся в городе в 1939 году. Основу его собрания составляет коллекция произведений изобразительного и декоративно-прикладного искусства, а также образцы промышленного дизайна созданные в 1930-е годы. В этот период Булонь-Бийанкура был очень привлекательным городом из-за возможности недорого приобрести жильё или арендовать помещение для мастерской, поэтому сюда стремились переселиться многие одарённые, но не богатые художники, скульпторы и архитекторы.

Начало комплектования музейного собрания было положено историком и коллекционером А.Безансоном. На выставочной площади в 3000 м2 представлено 800 живописных полотен, 1500 скульптур, 20 тыс. рисунков. Новым направлением в работе музея с 1990 года стало комплектование коллекции произведений восточного искусства.

Музей Рено

Небольшой музей компании Renault размещается в четырёх залах особняка XIX в.

В его экспозиции представлены материалы о биографии Л. Рено, инвестициях фирмы в автоспорт и социальные программы, экспонаты иллюстрирующие процесс проектирования автомобиля и его производство.

Музей Бельмондо

Художественный музей П. Бельмондо самый молодой в Булонь-Бийанкуре. Он открылся в 2010 году по инициативе детей скульптора ‒ знаменитого актёра Жан-Поля Бельмондо, его сестры Мюриэль и брата Алена. Экспозиция развёрнута на площади 1 000 м2 в особняке XVIII в. Buchillot, принадлежавшем Э. де Ротшильду.

Основу музейного собрания составила переданная родственниками коллекция, включающая 259 скульптур, 444 медали и 900 рисунков.

Музей Кана

В музее банкира, промышленника и филантропа А. Кана собрано более 1500 фотографий из разных уголков мира, на которых запечатлены сцены повседневной и праздничной жизни народов далёких стран. Начало коллекции было положено в 1908 году во время поездки в Боснию и Герцеговины. Он считал, что фотография может стать тем средством, которое сблизит народы и поможет лучше понять различные культуры.

В лекционном зале музея можно также просмотреть любой из 123 фильмов, отснятых А. Каном и его единомышленниками, или стать зрителем одного из 80 слайд-шоу. С 2014 года вход в музей ограничен на время проведения реконструкции по проекту К. Кума, поэтому осмотреть экспозицию и сад можно лишь по предварительной договорённости.

Сады музея Альбера Кана

Красота окружающей Булонь-сюр-Сен природы стала главной причиной решения А. Кана переехать сюда в 1893 году. Живописные холмы Сен-Клу и впадающие в Сену речки в сочетании с многолетней страстью к ландшафтному искусству вдохновили его на создание в 1895-1910 годах уникального садово-паркового комплекса.

Территория ландшафтного парка площадью 4 га разделена на 7 секций: луг и Золотой лес, болото и Синий лес, японский и французский сады и ландшафтный парк Вогёз. Каждый из них представляет собой своеобразную «сцену» на которой представлены различные направления ландшафтного дизайна.

Как добраться из Парижа

От станции метро Strasbourg — Saint-Denis отходит поезд по 9 линии метро до остановки Marcel Sembat. Время пути составит около 30 минут. Цена проезда 1,90 евро.

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий