Rambouillet - a suburb of Paris

Countries and cities

Rambouillet is a commune in the Yvelines department in the south of the Ile-de-France region. The center of the sub-prefecture of the same name is located 78 km from Paris.

History

The commune of Rambouillet has been known since 768 thanks to the mention in the documents of the donation of the forest of Yvelines to the Abbey of Saint-Denis during the reign of King Pepin the Short of the Franks. In the 9th century Rambouillet returns to the domain of the king, and since the 11th century belongs to the Comte de Montfort.

In 1783, the estate near Rambouillet was acquired by Louis XVI, in which the commune received new incentives for economic development. The construction of the railway in 1849 led to the rapid development of industry and the growth of the city's population.

In the 20th century it hosts important international meetings, including the 6 G1975 summit and the 1999 Kosovo-Serbia Conference. Bilateral meetings of the President of France with the Prince of Monaco Rainier, the Duke of Edinburgh, the leader of the Libyan Jamahiriya M. Gaddafi and other politicians were organized in the Rambouillet castle.

Monuments of architecture

Rambouillet castle

The most famous landmark of the city is the castle of Rambouillet, built in the 14th century. - This is a fort-fortress built in 1374-1384 in the likeness of the Bastille and the Louvre for the Prevost of Paris J. Bernier with neoclassical elements of the facade design introduced later. The architectural ensemble consists of a citadel with round towers, one wing and a medieval crenellated tower by Francois I, named after the king who died in it in 1547.

For a long time until the end of the 17th century. the castle belonged to the aristocratic Anzhann family, was a royal residence, and in the 19th - early 21st century. ‒ country dacha of the Presidents of France. From 2009 to the present, it has been under restoration of facades and interiors.

It is interesting to read:  Hotel Lambert in Paris

Palace of the King of Rome

The construction of the palace of the King of Rome (Le palais du roi de Rome) was completed in 1784.

Initially, it belonged to Louis XVI, and then, after reconstruction by the architect O. Fermin, during the First Empire it became the residence of Napoleon II.

Church of Saints Luben and John the Baptist

The main church of the Rambouillet, St. Luben and St. John the Baptist (L'église Saint-Lubin-et-Saint-Jean-Baptiste) was built in 1868-1871 instead of a dilapidated church of the late 10th century. The project of the temple was developed by the architect Viollet-le-Duc.

His reliquary contains a fragment of the "true Holy Cross" brought from Palestine by Count Simon IV de Montfort.

American eagle

Monument American Eagle (Le monument du Souvenir et de la reconnaissance), installed at the site of the death of a soldier from the US Army in August 1944. The authors of the memorial were the sculptor G. Le Bourgeois and the artist R. Calli.

The monument was opened in 1947 in the presence of French President V. Oriol and American Ambassador D. Caffrey.

City museums

Railway Transport Museum

Rambouillet is home to the largest museum of the history of railway transport in France (Rambolitrain). It was opened in 1984 in an old mansion of the 19th century. on Place Jean d'Arc thanks to the enthusiasm of collectors and railway historians J. Wisbeck and A. Baldy.

The museum fund, located on two floors of the mansion, unites more than 4 thousand museum items, mainly models of carriages and locomotives.

In the garden near the museum there is a narrow-gauge railway, along which a small train runs in summer.

Royal Sheepfold

The National Sheep Center or the Royal Sheepfold (La laiterie de la Reine) is another unusual attraction in Rambouillet.

It was built in 1786. The old building still houses an agricultural enterprise that breeds sheep, goats and cows. There is also a small sheep breeding museum.

It is interesting to read:  Noisy-le-Sec - a suburb of Paris

Gardens and forests

The oldest part of the Rambouillet garden adjacent to the castle was designed by F. Armenonville in 1699 in the French style. It includes lawns with flower beds, a terrace, linden alleys and a network of canals that form artificial islands when crossing.

In 1779, Count Pantier ordered the creation of a picturesque garden in the English style, decorated with grottoes and a Chinese pavilion. By the end of the 18th century also includes the construction of La chaumière aux coquillages and the Dairy Queen in the park.

Near the city there is an extensive forest of Rambouillet, covering an area of ​​200 km.2. This oak grove is only a small part of the vast forest of Yvelines, heavily cut down in the Middle Ages, but still impressive in size. With a width of 15 km, it extends for 35 km in length and 15 km in width and is characterized by a great variety of ecosystems.

On the territory of the forest there are several ponds, rivers with waterfalls, rocky outcrops and sandy plains. Part of the forest is the Regional Park of the Upper Chevreuse Valley. The Rambouillet forest is the second most visited forest, second only to the forest in popularity Fonteblo.

In the Rambouillet forest there are several equipped places for observing wild animals: Green Odyssey (Odyssée verte), Forest of eagles (Forêt des aigles), Wild forest (Forêt sauvage) and Deer forest (Forêt des cerfs). During your stay in it, you can see dozens of species of birds, reptiles, or meet deer, wild boars and even a bison acclimatized here.

How to get from Paris

From Gare Montparnasse there is a train to Rambouillet. Travel time will be 35 minutes. For a profitable journey, the Navigo card is suitable.

Source
INFO-MANIAC

Рамбуйе (Rambouillet) — пригород Парижа

Рамбуйе (Rambouillet) ‒ коммуна в департаменте Ивелин на юге региона Иль-де-Франс. Центр одноимённой субпрефектуры расположен в 78 км от Парижа.

История

Коммуна Рамбуйе известна с 768 года благодаря упоминанию в документах о пожертвовании леса Ивелин аббатству Сен-Дени во времена правления короля франков Пипина Короткого. В IX в. Рамбуйе возвращается в домен короля, а с XI столетия принадлежит графу де Монфор.

В 1783 году имение около Рамбуйе приобретает Людовик XVI при котором коммуна получает новые стимулы для экономического развития. Строительство железной дороги в 1849 году привело к бурному развитию промышленности и росту населения города.

В XX в. в нём проходят важные международные встречи, включая саммит G6 1975 года и Конференцию по Косово и Сербии в 1999 году. В замке Рамбуйе организовывались двусторонние встречи президента Франции с князем Монако Ренье, герцогом Эдинбургским, лидером ливийской Джамахирии М. Каддафи и другими политиками.

Памятники архитектуры

Замок Рамбуйе

Самая известная достопримечательность города замок Рамбуйе XIV в – это построенная в 1374-1384 годах по подобию Бастилии и Лувра для прево Парижа Ж. Бернье форт-крепость с внесёнными позднее неоклассическими элементами оформления фасада. Архитектурный ансамбль состоит из цитадели с круглыми башнями, одного крыла и средневековой зубчатой башни Франсуа I, названной по имени умершего в ней в 1547 году короля.

Длительное время до конца XVII в. замок принадлежал аристократической семье Анжанн, был королевской резиденцией, а в XIX-начале XXI вв. ‒ загородной дачей президентов Франции. С 2009 года по настоящее время он находится на реставрации фасадов и интерьеров.

Дворец короля Рима

Строительство дворца короля Рима (Le palais du roi de Rome) завершилось в 1784 году.

Первоначально он принадлежал Людовику XVI, а затем, после реконструкции по проекту архитектора О. Фермина, во времена Первой империи стал резиденцией Наполеона II.

Церковь святых Любен и Иоанна Крестителя

Главная церковь Рамбуйе св. Любен и св. Иоанна Крестителя (L’église Saint-Lubin-et-Saint-Jean-Baptiste) построена в 1868-1871 годах вместо обветшавшего храма конца X в. Проект храма разработан архитектором Виоле-ле-Дюком.

В его реликварии находится фрагмент «истинного Святого Креста», привезённый из Палестины графом Симоном IV де Монфором.

Американский орёл

Памятник Американский орёл (Le monument du Souvenir et de la reconnaissance), установленный на месте гибели в августе 1944 года солдат из армии США. Авторами мемориала стали скульптор Г. Ле Буржуа и художник Р. Калли.

Монумент был открыт в 1947 году в присутствии президента Франции В. Ориоля и американского посла Д. Каффри.

Городские музеи

Музей ж/д транспорта

В Рамбуйе находится крупнейший музей истории железнодорожного транспорта во Франции (Rambolitrain). Он открыт в 1984 году в старинном особняке XIX в. на площади Ж. д’Арк благодаря энтузиазму коллекционеров и историков железной дороги Ж. Висбеку и А. Болди.

Фонд музея, разместившийся на двух этажах особняка, объединяет более 4 тыс. музейных предметов, главным образом, модели вагонов и локомотивов.

В саду около музея есть узкоколейная железная дорога, по которой летом курсирует небольшой состав.

Королевская овчарня

Национальный центр овцеводства или Королевская овчарня (La laiterie de la Reine) ‒ ещё одна необычная достопримечательность Рамбуйе.

Она построена в 1786 году. В старинном здании до сих располагается сельскохозяйственное предприятие, занимающееся выведением пород овец, коз и коров. Здесь также находится небольшой музей овцеводства.

Сады и леса

Самая старая часть прилегающего к замку сада Рамбуйе спроектирована Ф. Арменонвилем в 1699 году во французском стиле. Она включает газоны с цветниками, террасу, липовые аллеи и сеть каналов, образующих при пересечении искусственные островки.

В 1779 году граф Пантье распорядился создать живописный сад в английском стиле, украшенный гротами и китайским павильоном. К концу XVIII в. также относится строительство в парке коттеджа Ла Шамери (La chaumière aux coquillages) и молочной фермы королевы (Dairy Queen).

Около города расположен обширный лес Рамбуйе, занимающий площадь в 200 км2. Эта дубрава представляет собой лишь малую часть от бескрайнего леса Ивелин, сильно вырубленного в эпоху Средневековья, но по-прежнему впечатляет размерами. При ширине в 15 км она простирается в длину на 35 км при ширине 15 км и отличается большим разнообразием экосистем.

На территории леса находится несколько прудов, речки с водопадами, скальные обнажения и песчаные равнины. Частью леса является региональный парк Верхней долины Шеврез. Лес Рамбуйе занимает второе место по посещаемости, уступая в популярности только лесу Фонтебло.

В лесу Рамбуйе находится несколько оборудованных мест для наблюдений за дикими животными: Зелёная Одиссея (Odyssée verte), Лес орлов (Forêt des aigles), Дикий лес (Forêt sauvage) и Олений лес (Forêt des cerfs). Во время пребывания в нём можно увидеть десятки видов птиц, пресмыкающихся или повстречаться с оленями, кабанами и даже с акклиматизированным здесь зубром.

Как добраться из Парижа

От вокзала Монпарнас идет поезд до Рамбуйе. Время в пути составит 35 минут, стоимость — 7.60 евро. Для выгодного проезда подходит карта Навиго.

Понравилась статья? Поделиться с друзьями:
ИНФО-МАНЬЯК
Добавить комментарий