Theater of the Champs-Elysées in Paris

Theaters

The building of the Champs-Elysées Theater (Théâtre des Champs-Elysées) was commissioned by the impresario Gabriel Astruc in 1911-1913. The project for it was developed by architects Auguste and Gustave Pere with the participation of Henri van der Velde.

Architecture and decor

One of the first buildings in the Art Deco style in Paris, at first it was perceived negatively by the public. The five-story building was built of reinforced concrete structures with a modest amount of decorative elements.

According to the project, the theater provides three halls for spectators. The largest of them accommodates 1 people. The comedy hall located above accommodates 905 spectators, and a small studio on the fifth floor is designed for 601 theatergoers.

The facade of the theater building is decorated with a bas-relief made by the sculptor Antoine Bourdelle. The decor of the dome was designed by the artist Maurice Denis. In a large-scale artistic composition, images of ancient mythology and from the works of R. Wagner, L. van Beethoven, K. Gluck are used.

To decorate the interiors of the halls and foyer, Edouard Vuillard and Jacqueline Marvel painted several paintings. The curtain for the main hall was designed by Coeur-Xavier Roussel.

On the top floor of the theater, the Maison Blanche restaurant is open for visitors and guests of the city. In 1957, the building was recognized as an architectural monument of the early 20th century. and is under state protection.

Stars on the theater stage

The grand opening of the theater took place on April 2, 1913 with a grandiose gala concert. It was attended by five of the most famous French composers of the early 20th century: C. Debussy, C. Dukas, G. Faure, V. d'Indy, C. Saint-Saens. Shortly after the opening, a high-profile world premiere of I. Stravinsky's ballet "The Rite of Spring" took place on its stage.

Prior to World War II, the operas by G. Berlioz "Benvenuto Cellini", Fauré "Penelope", the ballet "The Firebird" by I. Stravinsky, Anna Pavlova and performances of "Russian Seasons" by S. Diaghilev were staged in the theater. On the stage there were performances based on the plays by J. Giraud "Siegfried", "Amphitrion", "Intermezzo", C. Vildrac "Madame Belliard".

It is interesting to read:  Teatro Busol in Paris

In the new century, no more than three operas per season are staged on the stage of the Champ-Elizi Theater. At the same time, it is often used as a concert venue. The theater stage has become the home of the Lamoureux Orchestra and the Orchester National de France. During tours in France, the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra is based here.

Address and how to get there

Address: 15 Avenue Montaigne, Paris 75008
Website: www.theatrechampselysees.fr
Metro: Alma-Marceau

Source
INFO-MANIAC

Театр Елисейских полей в Париже

Театры

Здание театра Елисейских полей (Théâtre des Champs-Elysées) построено по заказу импрессарио Габриэля Астрюка в 1911-1913 годах. Проект для него разработан архитекторами Огюстом и Густавом Пере при участии Анри ван дер Вельде.

Архитектура и декор

Одно из первых в Париже здание в стиле арт-деко первое время воспринимался общественностью негативно. Пятиэтажное здание построено из железобетонных конструкций со скромным количеством декоративных элементов.

По проекту в театре предусмотрено три зала для зрителей. Самый большой из них вмещает 1 905 человек. Расположенный выше зал комедии вмещает 601 зрителя, а маленькая студия на пятом этаже рассчитана на 230 театралов.

Фасад театрального здания украшает барельеф, выполненный скульптором Антуаном Бурделем. Над декором купола работал художник Морис Дени. В масштабной художественной композиции использованы образы античной мифологии и из произведений Р. Вагнера, Л. ван Бетховена, К. Глюка.

Для оформления интерьеров холлов и фойе Эдуард Вуйяр и Жаклин Марвель написали несколько картин. Занавес для главного зала оформлен по эскизам Кер-Ксавье Русселя.

На верхнем этаже театра для посетителей и гостей города открыт ресторан Maison Blanche. В 1957 году здание было признано памятником архитектуры начала 20 в. и находится под охраной государства.

Звёзды на театральной сцене

Торжественное открытие театра состоялось 2 апреля 1913 года грандиозным гала-концертом. В нём приняли участие пять самых известных французских композиторов начала 20 в.: К. Дебюсси, К. Дюка, Г. Форе, В. д’Инди, К. Сен-Санс. Вскоре после открытия на его сцене состоялась громкая мировая премьера балета И. Стравинского «Весна священная».

До Второй мировой войны в театре ставились оперы Г. Берлиоза «Бенвенуто Челлини», Форе «Пенелопа», балет И. Стравинского «Жар-птица», выступала Анна Павлова и спектакли «Русских сезонов» С. Дягилева. На сцене шли спектакли по пьесам Ж. Жиро «Зигфрид», «Амфитрион», «Интермеццо», Ш. Вильдрака «Мадам Бельяр».

Интересно почитать:  Театр Бусоль в Париже

В новом столетии на сцене театра Шамп-Элизи ставится не более трёх опер за сезон. Одновременно он часто используется как концертная площадка. Сцена театра стала домашней для Оркестра Ламурё и Национального оркестра Франции. Во время гастролей по Франции здесь базируется Венский филармонический оркестр.

Адрес и как добраться

Адрес: 15 Avenue Montaigne, Paris 75008
Сайт: www.theatrechampselysees.fr
Метро: Alma-Marceau

Источник
INFO-MANIAC
Добавить комментарий